TEI-C Board of Directors meeting, 24 Oct 2004
Minutes v1.0
Meeting held at the Shriver Board Room, John Hopkins University, Baltimore
Patrick Durusau

Voting members of the Board present: Julia Flanders, Chair; Sebastian Rahtz; John Unsworth; Geoffrey Rockwell, Daniel Pitti; Daniel Apollon; Patrick Durusau. Also present: Syd Bauman, Editor; Lou Burnard, Editor; Tone Merete Bruvik, Executive Director; Matthew Zimmermann, incoming Board member (2005-2006).

Certification of Meeting
The meeting was certified.

The agenda was approved with the TEI logo being added as an additional item.

The minutes of the last meeting were reviewed and approved, as corrected.
Appointment of officers
Julia Flanders was reappointed as Chair.
Appointment of Chair of the Council

Christian Wittern was reappointed Chair of the Council. In the event he is unable to accept the position, Laurent Romary is appointed as Chair of the Council.

Action 1: Julia Flanders asapTo contact Christian Wittern concerning his reappointment as Chair of the Council

Bids for host

Bids for host were received from Brown (Brown University), Nancy (Loria (Laboratoire Lorrain de Recherche en Informatique et ses Applications), ATILF (Analyse et Traitement Informatisé de la Langue Française), and, INIST (Institut de l'Information Scientifique et Technique), wherein Loria would be the coordinating body), Oxford (Research Technologies Services at Oxford University Computing Services), and Virginia (University of Virginia).

Extensive discussion followed about hosts and the roles that they should play in the consortium. See TEI Staffing. A motion was made and seconded to accept all four host bids. The motion passed unanimously.

Action 2: Julia Flanders asap to notify all prospective hosts of the acceptance of their bids.

TEI Staffing

The various roles filled by the Executive Director were discussed. Concluded that Tone Merete Bruvik, Julia Flanders and Daniel Apollon should develop a list of the tasks of the Executive Director and then either request a salary for the position or request tasks to be assumed by hosts.

Nominating Committee for 2005

The nominating committee for 2005 will consist of John Unsworth, Matthew Zimmerman and Laurent Romary.

Program Committee, Members Meeting 2005

Lou Burnard, Matthew Zimmerman and a yet to be named Bulgarian representative were appointed as the program committee for the members meeting in 2005.

Special Thanks

Tone Merete Bruvik was officially thanked by the Board for her service to the TEI Consortium as its Executive Director since its inception.

Geoffrey Rockwell was officially thanked by the Board for his service as a member of the Board.

At this point the meeting was adjourned.

Copyright TEI Consortium. Except where otherwise noted, content on this site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported license and a BSD 2-Clause license.
Last recorded change to this page: 2007-09-16  •  For corrections or updates, contact webmaster AT tei-c.org