TEI: Technical Council

The TEI Technical Council is responsible for the development and maintenance of the TEI Guidelines and other TEI systems and resources. It recommends, evaluates, and implements new features and modifications of existing features, and supervises the overall development of each new version of the Guidelines. At the TEI annual members’ meeting, the Council presents a report on current work, and minutes are available from the meetings of the Council as well. The archives of the mailing list are public accessible and ongoing and past work can be seen in the TEI’s GitHub site.

The consists of eleven members elected to staggered two-year terms by the TEI membership at the Annual Meeting. The Council meets once or twice a year in person, and holds a telephone conference call roughly every other month. The TEI Council sometimes uses the TEI Council Wiki Page to organize agendas or other information relating to its meetings.

Current Technical Council Members

Term January 2017 through December 2018

Syd Bauman
XML Programmer-Analyst, Northeastern University
Alejandro Bia
Deputy Director, Department of Statistics, Mathematics and Computer Science; Researcher, Operations Research Center (CIO), both at the Miguel Hernández University (UMH)
Hugh Cayless
Digital Humanities Senior Programmer, Duke Collaboratory for Classics Computing, Duke University
Sarah Stanley
Assistant​ ​Digital​ ​Scholarship​ ​Coordinator​,​ ​Office​ ​of​ ​Digital​ ​Research​ ​and Scholarship,​ ​Florida​ ​State​ ​University.​
Raffaele Viglianti
Research Programmer, Maryland Institute for Technology in the Humanities, University of Maryland

Term January 2018 through December 2019

Elisa Beshero-Bondar
Associate Professor of English, University of Pittsburgh at Greensburg
James Cummings
Senior Lecturer in English Literature, Newcastle University
Elli Mylonas
Senior Digital Humanities Librarian, Brown University Library
Martina Scholger (Chair, January–December 2018)
Senior Scientist, Centre for Information Modelling, Austrian Centre for Digital Humanities, University of Graz
Peter Stadler
Researcher, Carl-Maria-von-Weber-Gesamtausgabe / University of Paderborn
Magdalena Turska
Marie Curie fellow of Digital Scholarly Editions ITN (DiXiT), University of Oxford IT Services